Halaal Food E Codes

May allah reward all those who take the efforts to guide this ummah to the straight path and give hidayath to all those who try to misguide this ummah! Aameen.

I would be pleased to list all the E codes mentioned in the forwarded email with it's explanation and halal/HARAM status:

E 100 = Turmeric.
Also known as Curcumin. Manjhal in malayalam. Turmeric, a representative of plant genus Curcuma, is a member of the ginger family, Zingiberaceae hence halal.

E110 = Sunset Yellow FCF.
This is a complete synthetic chemical formula sourced from coal tar and azo yellow dye. There is no relation proved to animal sources hence halal.

E 120 = Cochineal
This is red colour taken from crushed insects. HARAM.

E 140 = Chlorophylls and Chlorophyllins
This colour dye is taken from Spinach, nettles and grass. 100% plants and vegetable source hence halal.

E 141 = Chlorophylls and Chlorophyllins; Derivative.
This colour dye is a derived from the above ingredient hence halal.

E 153 = Vegetable carbon, Carbon black
This is derived from burnt vegetable matter hence halal.
It is sad to note that the very famous animal ingredient E 152 (mushbooh, according to the animal source) is not even listed in the forwarded email.

E 210 = Benzoic acid
This is 100% synthetic chemical with no animal sources. It is produced with the oxedation from oxygen, benzoin and petroleum derivatives. Hence, halal.

E 214 = Ethyl para-hydroxybenzoate
This a derivative of Benzoic acid, above ingredient. hence halal.

E 216 = Propyl para-hydroxybenzoate
This a derivative of Benzoic acid, above ingredient. hence halal.

E 234 = Nisin
This is a natural antimicrobial agent, derived from controlled fermentation of the naturally occurring bacteria Streptococcus lactis, found in milk. Organic laws of the world allows milk from domestic dairy animals (PIG is non dairy animal) only. Hence, halal.

E 252 = Potassium nitrate
This is taken from waste animal or vegetable matter. Only the producer would be able to disclose the source. Hence it depends on the source to be halal or HARAM.

E 270 = Lactic Acid
This is commercially produced by bacterial fermentation on starch and molasses. Also produced in large amounts in the large intestine by the resident bacteria. Although it can be produced synthetically, Animals are the common source for this ingredient and hence better avoided. Depending on the source, it can be halal or HARAM.

E 280 = Propionic acid
This is derived from ethylene and carbon monoxide or propionaldehyde, natural gas or fermented wood pulp. Hence halal.

E 325 = Sodium Lactate
This the sodium salt of Lactic acid (E 270). The same ruling applies here. Better avoided.

E 326 = Potassium Lactate
Same as above. Better avoided.

E 327 = Calcium Lactate
Same as above. Better avoided.

E 334 = Tartaric Acid.
This is a  natural, widely occurring, plant acid. Hence halal.

E 335 = Sodium Tartrate
Same as above. Hence halal.

E 336 = Potassium Tartrate
Same as above. Hence halal.

E 337 = Sodium Potassium Tartrate
Same as above. Hence halal.

Now, a common solution described by Halal experts are to avoid using products which contains ingredients above E 430 upto E 500. This is a general ruling. But there are exemptions. (Some are halal).
The list forwwarded has many E 400 numbers. I will only list those which are halal.

E 422 = Glycerol
This is produced either synthetically from propene, or by bacterial fermentation of sugars; it is not produced from fat. Glycerol doesnt contain alcohol either hence halal.

E 440 = Pectins
This is found in ripe fruits such as apples and plums but mainly prepared from citrus peel, traditionally lemons, limes and grapefruit. Hence halal.

E 476 = Polyglycerol polyricinoleate
This is produced from castor oil and glycerol esters (see E422). hence halal.

Rest of the numbers listed in the email from E 430 and above are all either Mushbooh or HARAM.

E 542 = Bone phosphate
This is derivated from animal bones hence HARAM.

E 570 = Stearic acid
This is normally prepared fro cotton seed oil etc.. but Animal source cannot be excluded. Hence depended on it's source it will be halal or HARAM.

E 572 = Magnesium Stearate
Same as above. Better avoided.

E 631 = Sodium Inosinate
This is taken from Animals and fishes. If taken from fishes, halal. Else, HARAM. Better avoided.

E 635 = 
Sodium5-Ribonucleotide
Same as above. Better avoided.

E 904 = Shellac
This taken from lice. HARAM.

This completes all the E codes mentioned in your forwarded email. But, there are more HARAM e numbers which has to be brought into attention. I would suggest you to take a look at the HALAL E codes listed at Ask Imam website etc.. for better and correct information.
Please dont forward hoax emails like this to others so that Allah wont make us amongst those who misguide this ummah.

Wassalam,
Mouvli Zakariya bin Yahya.

[in his reply to e-codes forwarded to him. he has done research on the items (E codes) mentioned in the email.
Some of the items mentioned in the haram list appears to be wrong. Some of them are pure vegetarian spices, salt etc.. which has no connection to any animal.
Following was the list in the forwarded message which claimed to have PIG FAT. E100, E110, E120, E 140, E141, E153, E2l0, E213, E214, E216, E234, E252,E270, E280, E325, E326, E327, E334, E335, E336, E337, E422, E430, E431, E432, E433, E434, E435, E436, E440, E470, E472, E473, E474, E475,E476, E477, E478, E481, E482, E483, E491, E492, E493, E494, E495, E542,E570, ES 72, E631, E635, E904.]

Also See a detailed Fatwa



Comments

  1. Jazakallah.This is a useful information not only for people who are particular about haram and halal foods but also for vegetarians.Even the fatty acids and gelatin used in moisturisers, shampoos, face masks and lipsticks as well as other items are often extracted from pigs.which we should be careful about.Many toothpastes also contain such things.The herbal toothpastes are safe to use.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Many food products like knorr soups,lays potato chips,and maggi noodles contain E621. It is actually ajinomoto,a taste enhancer which is of vegetable origin.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Some people drink more PEPSI in their life than water an they have no idea that Pepsin is derived from pigs!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Kindly refer to the following fatwa on Pepsi

    Pepsi Fatwa

    ReplyDelete
  5. A word of caution for hematinics (iron tonics) available in the form of tonics.Some years back a famous iron tonic was found to contain buffaloes' blood. It was banned. Now it has again come to market after getting permission from FDA.I would suggest it is better to take iron tablets or capsules instead of iron tonics.Capsules and tablets contain iron salts not derived from any animal source.

    ReplyDelete
  6. salam. please any body tell me that knorr noodles are haram or hilal? with reason.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Please tell me.. Is ther Fatwa on maggi?

    ReplyDelete
  8. As per consultation with Ulema kindly see the following reply.

    As per wikipedia.com: Maggi 2-minute noodles in India contains hydrolysed groundnut protein,
    It contains MSG (Monosodium glutamate, used as a flavor enhancer,
    which is made using Bactosoytone,
    itself made from soy protein using a catalyst enzyme PORCINE (taken from intestine of PIG)
    Hydrolysed vegetable protein can contain high levels of glutamate, but still mentions "NO ADDED MSG" on the pack..
    According to the United States FDA, this practice is misleading to consumers, as hydrolysed protein leads to formation of monosodium glutamate MSG after cooking.
    Also some Maggi noodles in Australia contain flavor enhancer 621 which is Monosodium Glutamate. MSG is known to cause adverse effects in some people."

    Link: http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maggi_noodles#section_2

    As a matter of fact, it is mentioned clearly regarding the usage of PORCINE in maggi noodles made in India.

    Caution advised to all fellow muslims.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. What is fatwa ...is this halal or haram

      Delete
    2. It is Haram according to consultation. Unless they have changed the usage.

      Delete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Meaning of Summa Ameen

Adel Asiri 1977-2021